External clock input of 10MHz

Discussions related to schematic capture, PCB layout, signal integrity, and RF development

Moderator: robert.ghilduta

Post Reply
vkkiisc
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 4:54 am

External clock input of 10MHz

Post by vkkiisc » Mon May 21, 2018 5:06 am

I would like to use 10 MHz external clock to bladerf from other sources(like GPSDO) to generate my waveforms.
I read the default external clock input to the bladerf is 38.4MHz. Now i would like to configure from 38.4MHz to 10MHz external clock input.
Is there any direct settings to change or i need to modify the main bladerf code or any other way to do this?
Please help me.

bglod
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: External clock input of 10MHz

Post by bglod » Wed May 23, 2018 11:35 am

One way to do this is to use J71 and enable the VCTCXO tamer algorithm as shown in this blog post.
Electrical Engineer
Nuand, LLC.

vkkiisc
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 4:54 am

Re: External clock input of 10MHz

Post by vkkiisc » Thu May 24, 2018 12:20 am

Thank you so much bgold for the reply. I have done the same thing to solve my problem.

bglod
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: External clock input of 10MHz

Post by bglod » Thu May 24, 2018 10:46 am

Great! Let us know if you have any issues with it.
Electrical Engineer
Nuand, LLC.

vkkiisc
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 4:54 am

Re: External clock input of 10MHz

Post by vkkiisc » Mon May 28, 2018 9:51 pm

Hi bgold

I have an issue.
I followed this link: https://www.nuand.com/blog/2016-01-rc1-release/ for VCTCXO Taming via 1 PPS or 10 MHz input.
I changed the trim dac settings with reference from CSAC GPSDO 10MHz clock. But i dint take the backup of previous dac settings.
Now am worried about the performance of Bladerf. How should i go back to default settings of DAC. Will this be a issue for my further work progress in generation of signals. How will this effect me if i dont go back to default settings?

Thank you in advance

bglod
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: External clock input of 10MHz

Post by bglod » Tue May 29, 2018 1:32 pm

We have a factory calibration lookup page: http://www.nuand.com/calibration.php

If nothing shows up for your serial number, please send us an e-mail with your serial number and I'll see if we can get it from the factory.
Electrical Engineer
Nuand, LLC.

vkkiisc
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 4:54 am

Re: External clock input of 10MHz

Post by vkkiisc » Tue May 29, 2018 11:51 pm

Thank You Bgold once again...

Post Reply