Unable to get Blade RF to initialize. possible fpga issue... unknown

Discussions related to schematic capture, PCB layout, signal integrity, and RF development
Sharkz59

Unable to get Blade RF to initialize. possible fpga issue... unknown

Post by Sharkz59 »

Hello all,

I just want to cut straight to the chase. I am helping a customer of mine to get a variety of spectrum analysis software and hardware running on his computer. We've not had any issues until we started trying to mess with the bladeRF 2.0 Micro A9. This thing--and I'm putting this lightly--is extremely frustrating to get up and running. I am a newbie to spectrum analysis (as I say this is mainly for a customer) but we have not had any other spectrum analyser fail this hard on so many levels. I've tried putting the device into DFU mode and reflashing it, with 4, yes, FOUR different firmwares starting with the most current one and ending with the first one that was released with this particular model of device, v0.8.0. I've tried 3-4 different FPGAs as well. Nothing--and I mean nothing, can get it to work. My customer is well versed in spectrum analysers as well and even he could not figure it out. Can someone riddle me this? terminal readout for bladeRF-cli coming right at you (and this is all the same regardless of what firmware or fpga combination I've used):

Code: Select all

~$: bladeRF-cli -i
[ERROR @ host/libraries/libbladeRF/src/board/bladerf2/bladerf2.c:122] _bladerf2_initialize: dev->backend->get_fpga_version(dev, &board_data->fpga_version) failed: Operation timed out
[ERROR @ host/libraries/libbladeRF/src/board/bladerf2/bladerf2.c:468] bladerf2_open: _bladerf2_initialize(dev) failed: Operation timed out
Failed to open device (first available): Operation timed out
skyroz666saile@skyroz666saile-MS-7693:~$ bladeRF-cli -i -v verbose
[VERBOSE @ host/libraries/libbladeRF/src/backend/usb/libusb.c:642] Using libusb version: 1.0.25.11696