Simultaneous GPS & GLONASS signal generation?

Off topic threads and discussions
jrh_engineer

Simultaneous GPS & GLONASS signal generation?

Post by jrh_engineer »

Hi,
I'm a total newbie when it comes to SDR's.
I need to generate a C/A signal for one satellite vehicle in the GPS L1 band and the equivalent for a satellite vehicle (SV) in the GLONASS L1 band. This is for over-the air testing of a GNSS receiver front-end in production. All I want to do is get CNo data for each SV and compare this to a reference receiver's data. I have a whole bunch of (possibly ignorant) questions:
  • Is it possible to generate these signals simultaneously on a single BladeRF?
  • Alternatively, should I expect to need 2x BladeRF boards?
  • How do I generate whatever input is required to the hardware? I found GNSS-SDRLIB and gps-sdr-sim but I'm not sure how I'd drive the former and I think the latter only offers GPS (no GLONASS).
  • Can the hardware be pre-loaded and run autonomously, or will it need tehering to a PC?
  • Is this exercise straightforward or would I have to budget for a lot of "mucking around" time?
My alternative appears to be speding upwards of $10k on a commercial satellite simulator. I can get a whole lot of BladeRF boards for the same dosh.
Thanks in advance for any help and advice,
John
bpadalino

Re: Simultaneous GPS & GLONASS signal generation?

Post by bpadalino »

Understandable on the noobishness. Please forgive my noobishness when it comes to GPS, so feel free to reply to this thread to get more clarification.