Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Having issues with the site, hardware, source code, or any other issues?
Post Reply
jacky
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:07 am

Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by jacky »

Today, I updated the bladerf code,and according to the instructions as follows:

Code: Select all

# ./bladeRF/linux/apps/bin/bladeRF-cli -d /dev/bladerf0 -l hostedx40.rbf -s setup.txt -b
Loading fpga...
Done.

  Set RX frequency: 1000000000Hz
  Set TX frequency: 1000000000Hz    [b][u]#Here set the center frequency of 1GHz[/u][/b]


  Setting RX sample rate - req:  10000000Hz, actual:  10000000Hz
  Setting TX sample rate - req:  10000000Hz, actual:  10000000Hz


  Set RX bandwidth - req: 28000000Hz actual: 28000000Hz
  Set TX bandwidth - req: 28000000Hz actual: 28000000Hz

  Set TXVGA1 to -14

  RX Frequency: 1228800000Hz   [b][u]#But here print center frequency is 1.228GHz  ,why?[/u][/b]
  TX Frequency: 1228800000Hz

  RX sample rate: 10000000
  TX sample rate: 10000000

  RX Bandwidth:   1500000Hz
  TX Bandwidth:   1500000Hz

   tx config file=samples.txt format=csv repeat=1 delay=0
   tx start
How do I get this file? samples.txt?

Another question:
I tried to set up a simple block diagram in gnuradio-companion using an osmocom sink block and sine source block, But there was a problem:"RuntimeError: set_sample_rate failure due to device not being open Failed to read samples: File or device I/O failure". Any idea why this would be, or are there detailed instruction on how to set up the osmocom source block to work with bladeRF?

thanks.
bpadalino
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by bpadalino »

If you change the 'tx to an 'rx', you will receive samples and they will be placed into a file called 'samples.txt'.

As for setting up the osmosdr blocks to work with your bladeRF, you can check their website for more information.

Hopefully this helps.
jacky
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:07 am

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by jacky »

I already tried but there still have an error:

Code: Select all

bladeRF> rx config file=/tmp/some_file format=csv 
bladeRF> rx

    State: Idle
    File: /tmp/some_file
    Format: C16, CSV
    # Samples: 1024
bladeRF> rx start

Error: A fatal unknown error has occurred
madengr
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:51 am

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by madengr »

I'm also getting the many of the "unknown error has occurred" in the CLI when poking memory locations in the LMS. I'm attempting to run the internal LMS calibration via a script of several pokes, and it's rare I can complete all of them without errors.
bpadalino
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by bpadalino »

I've seen that recently. I am hoping our kernel engineer can get to the bottom of this and why it might be happening.

Do you know if you are connected via SS or HS?
jacky
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:07 am

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by jacky »

I connected via SS, This error occurs.
syntroniks
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:28 am

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by syntroniks »

This has happened to me as well running under ubuntu 12.04 on the latest vmware player. I was connected via both 2.0 (HS) and 3.0 (SS) in software. The port was always a 3.0 port. I can not say whether the problem is with vmware player or not since I don't have a 'real' linux machine yet.

FWIW, when I flash a compiled fx3 firmware, the version is always 1.0, regardless of what I set in the source code (e.g. v0.3)
bpadalino
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by bpadalino »

What git repository revision are you on?
syntroniks
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:28 am

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by syntroniks »

The latest -- but my linux kernel and many other system components were out of date. I may be able to report back on the virtual machine once I am done testing in this installed environment.

At this point, I have not tested with gnuradio yet, but the rx/tx demo on board (as per this topic) seems to be functioning although dmesg seems to be reporting my ports as high-speed. I'll investigate that further as well.
piranha32
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:25 am

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by piranha32 »

I have similar problems with bladeRF on Fedora19. I have the most recent software from git, firmware for microcontroller was compiled from source, FPGA config was downloaded from nuand.com. I don't have USB3 ports in my computer, so I'm using USB2.0 link. Firmwares upload successfully, board responds and returns correct config info:

Code: Select all

bladeRF> probe
      Path: /dev/bladerf0
      Serial: 0x0000000000000000
      Firmware: v0.3
      FPGA: v0.0
Unfortunately saving IQ samples to file doesn't seem to work. I'm using the following sequence of commands:

Code: Select all

set  samplerate 2000000
set frequency 450000000
set bandwidth 1500000
rx config n=1000000 file=/tmp/iq.sav format=binl
rx
rx start
RX starts, seems to be working:

Code: Select all

bladeRF> rx
    State: Running
    File: /tmp/iq.sav
    Format: C16, Binary (Little Endian)
    # Samples: 1000000
However no samples are saved to the file and the process never stops (unless I send rx stop). An attempt to start rx again after stopping locks the cli app. I can kill the cli tool with ^C, start again and the rx process will start successfully, with identical results. The only sign of activity in the logs are these two lines form kernel module:

Code: Select all

Aug 01 02:51:51 localhost kernel: usb_control_msg(ptr=ffff880526f43eb8) len=4
Aug 01 02:51:51 localhost kernel: done usb_control_msg() = 4
Resetting the board, reflashing microcontroller, reprogramming the fpga, unloading and loading again the module do not help.
What is interesting, I managed to get the board to work once, the very first time I uploaded the firmware files (I checked with osmocom_fft). After reset it never worked again.
madengr
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:51 am

Re: Run rx/tx demo on bladerf board

Post by madengr »

madengr wrote:I'm also getting the many of the "unknown error has occurred" in the CLI when poking memory locations in the LMS. I'm attempting to run the internal LMS calibration via a script of several pokes, and it's rare I can complete all of them without errors.
The changes made to the code 3 days ago fixed this issue.
Post Reply