failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Having issues with the site, hardware, source code, or any other issues?
Post Reply
andys86498
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 7:20 am

failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by andys86498 »

as title

i use matlab 2015a and install latest version of bladerf

i also set the matlab path to bladerf libary

==========follwowing is the error message ============================

>> bladeRF_rx_gui
Error using bladeRF.check_status (line 111)
libbladeRF error (-7) in bladeRF_open(): No devices available

Error in bladeRF (line 390)
bladeRF.check_status('bladeRF_open', status);

Error in bladeRF_rx_gui>bladeRF_fft_OpeningFcn (line 323)
handles.bladerf = bladeRF('*:instance=0');

Error in gui_mainfcn (line 220)
feval(gui_State.gui_OpeningFcn, gui_hFigure, [], guidata(gui_hFigure), varargin{:});

Error in bladeRF_rx_gui (line 50)
gui_mainfcn(gui_State, varargin{:});


========================================================================

thanks for helping
jynik
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 8:15 pm

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by jynik »

The error message seems to suggest that the system cannot find a bladeRF:

Code: Select all

Error using bladeRF.check_status (line 111)
libbladeRF error (-7) in bladeRF_open(): No devices available
Are you able to use the bladeRF-cli program to open the device? If not, then it sounds like you may not have either the libusb-based or Cypress CyUSB3 driver installed. (You need one or the other -- whichever you decide.)

Alternatively, you may see this error if you are running a different program that currently has elusive access to the device. When this is the case, you'll usually see a blinking LED on the bladeRF.
andys86498
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 7:20 am

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by andys86498 »

thanks!!
i finally solved this problem.
jynik
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 8:15 pm

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by jynik »

Nice job! Mind sharing the details of your solution so that others may benefit from it?
andys86498
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 7:20 am

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by andys86498 »

jynik wrote:Nice job! Mind sharing the details of your solution so that others may benefit from it?
cause bladeRF cannot be accessed by to interface simultaneously ,i just close one of them.
then matlab can detect the bladerf.
Geo89
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:32 am

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by Geo89 »

Greetings,

I'm experiencing similar issues with matlab 2014b. When I try to load bladeRF_rx_gui it returns a bunch of errors:

Code: Select all

Error using bladeRF/load_library (line 308)
Failed to find functions in libbladeRF.

Error in bladeRF.devices (line 164)
            bladeRF.load_library();

Error in bladeRF_rx_gui>devicelist_CreateFcn (line 754)
    devs = bladeRF.devices;

Error in gui_mainfcn (line 95)
        feval(varargin{:});

Error in bladeRF_rx_gui (line 50)
        gui_mainfcn(gui_State, varargin{:});

Error in
matlab.graphics.internal.figfile.FigFile/read>@(hObject,eventdata)bladeRF_rx_gui('devicelist_CreateFcn',hObject,eventdata,guidata(hObject)) 
Warning: The following error was caught while executing 'bladeRF' class destructor:
Method was not found. 
> In matlab.graphics.internal.figfile.FigFile/read>@(hObject,eventdata)bladeRF_rx_gui('figure1_CloseRequestFcn',hObject,eventdata,guidata(hObject)) 
So far I have tried reinstalling the drivers (both WinUSB and CyUSB3), add path for matlab, using an older version of libbladerf and even trying a different version of matlab, 2015b to be exact.

BladeRF x40 runs nice with SDR-Radio v3 but I would like to use it on matlab's simulink in order to make a wide band spectrum analyzer using I Q data.
Since I can't even run the example provided, as expected I can't run the bladeRF's function block on matlab either.

I have used in the past, an Ettus N210 USRP for similar purposes, without any problem.
At first I thought that it was a USB 3.0 incompatibility, but CLI along SDR-Radio works like a charm.

Does anyone else had similar issues? Any suggestions?

Thank you
User avatar
mando238
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:07 pm

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by mando238 »

I might be getting the same thing with the most recent installer. Were there warnings surround your error listing the specific functions missing? If so can you post the too?
User avatar
mando238
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:07 pm

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by mando238 »

I had the same issue with the missing functions, See my solution in this thread - viewtopic.php?f=10&p=7627#p7627
User avatar
rtucker
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:38 am

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by rtucker »

Greetings...

I have a new build that should hopefully work... if you could, please give it a try and let us know how it goes.

The link to it is over in another thread: viewtopic.php?f=10&p=7627#p7698

Thanks! -rt
Rey Tucker (she/her)
Systems Engineer, Nuand LLC
Rochester, NY, USA

#WontBeErased
Geo89
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:32 am

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by Geo89 »

Thank you!

It works fine under Matlab 2015b
tybalt
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2022 12:49 pm

Re: failed to use matlab command "bladerf_rx_gui"

Post by tybalt »

I got the same errors when I tried to run bladerf_rx_gui.m. The problem occurs when I run bladerf.m first. If I restart Matlab without running bladerf.m, then bladerf_rx_gui runs just fine.
Post Reply