libbladeRF not working?

Discussions related to embedded firmware, driver, and user mode application software development
Post Reply
on4bhm
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:07 pm

libbladeRF not working?

Post by on4bhm »

I build the code using the latest git and following the README.md
compiling and installing are going fine
but when i do: bladeRF-cli -p i get the following error:

bladeRF-cli: error while loading shared libraries: libbladeRF.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


any idea what is wrong?
bpadalino
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by bpadalino »

It looks like you don't have /usr/local/lib in your LD_LIBRARY_PATH.

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib bladeRF-cli -p
Should work.
on4bhm
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:07 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by on4bhm »

ok thanks
i did the export

now i get this:
odroid@odroid:~$ bladeRF-cli -p

probe: Failed to probe for devices

is there something else i need to do?
jynik
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 8:15 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by jynik »

You can update library paths via:

Code: Select all

sudo ldconfig
I'd recommend this, so that you don't have to set up LD_LIBRARY_PATH every time you sit down to use the cli. (I usually only use that environment variable for quick checks, not for long term usage.)

With respect to the probe error message... I understand that's rather confusing because that message was printed in cases where either a device was not found or an actual error occurred. I've separted the two conditions in this commit.

Mind pulling master and trying again? If there's an actual failure, it should not print something a bit more informational.

Also, keep an eye out for changes on the "Getting Started" wiki pages. Folks are keeping that up to date with fixes and changes to the setup processes.
on4bhm
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:07 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by on4bhm »

i'm following this guide: https://github.com/Nuand/bladeRF/wiki/Linux-startup

but i'm stuck:
when i do a bladeRF-cli -p
i get:
odroid@odroid:/opt/bladeRF/bin$ bladeRF-cli -p
[DEBUG /home/odroid/bladeRF/host/libraries/libbladeRF/src/backend/libusb.c:191] Couldn't populate devinfo - LIBUSB_ERROR_ACCESS
[DEBUG /home/odroid/bladeRF/host/libraries/libbladeRF/src/backend/libusb.c:1417] Could not open bladeRF device: LIBUSB_ERROR_IO

i'm trying to run bladeRF on odroid hardkernel odroid-U2
odroid@odroid:/opt/bladeRF/bin$ uname -a
Linux odroid 3.0.75-odroidu2 #1 SMP Thu May 2 17:27:35 KST 2013 armv7l armv7l armv7l GNU/Linux

can anyone give me some advice what is wrong?

thanks
on4bhm
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:07 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by on4bhm »

addition:
if i do sudo bladeRF-cli -p
i get:
Backend: libusb
Serial:
USB Bus: 1
USB Address: 6

odroid@odroid:/opt/bladeRF/bin$
bpadalino
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by bpadalino »

It looks like your udev rules might not be setup? What groups is the user a member of? I believe we make the device a member of plugdev so if you aren't a member of that group, you won't be able to talk to the device. Check out our udev rules, but it sounds like you may want to modify this for your system? For a sanity check, you can try running the CLI as sudo, but I do not recommend doing that all the time.
on4bhm
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:07 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by on4bhm »

when i follow the setup wiki... i get a long way.
but in the final steps there is a problem:
when i do: ./osmocom_fft -s 8000000 -f 446000000 -g 60
i get:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./osmocom_fft", line 33, in <module>
import osmosdr
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/__init__.py", line 45, in <module>
from osmosdr_swig import *
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/osmosdr_swig.py", line 26, in <module>
_osmosdr_swig = swig_import_helper()
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/osmosdr_swig.py", line 22, in swig_import_helper
_mod = imp.load_module('_osmosdr_swig', fp, pathname, description)
ImportError: libgnuradio-osmosdr-0.1.1git.so.0.0.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

libgnuradio-osmosdr-0.1.1git.so.0.0.0 is in /usr/local/lib
and usr/local/lib is in my PATH

what is wrong here?
on4bhm
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:07 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by on4bhm »

running the cli as root is ok, that works.

the user linaro is already added to the group plugdev.

how can i setup the permissions to the device?
your url link is not quite clear to me.

thanks
bpadalino
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by bpadalino »

For the missing library, I believe you can do something like:

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib ./osmocom_fft -s 8000000 -f 446000000 -g 60
And it should find the library.

As for the modification of the udev rule, I believe it gets placed in /etc/udev/rules.d/88-nuand.rules. In that file, you will see the word "plugdev" - change it to "linaro" or whatever other user or group you want the device to belong.

Let us know how it goes for you.
on4bhm
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:07 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by on4bhm »

i made some remarkable progress.
now gnu radio is working.
i still have to load the fpga code eatch time i start up the system. but thats a problem for later.

i wanted to test the osmocom-siggen but it fails.
i once succeeded in getting the gui screen..
but most of the time it crashes.
i shall post my error later on.

at least i can already receive....
on4bhm
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:07 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by on4bhm »

the rx part seems ok.
but for the tx part, there seems to be a problem
the osmocom-siggen is working fine

but when i want to use the sink in gnuradio i get this error:
runtime error: resolve_port: hierarchical block 'sink_impl': input 0 is not connected internally

can anyone give me some advice on what to do next?
bladerf_beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by bladerf_beginner »

on4bhm wrote:when i follow the setup wiki... i get a long way.
but in the final steps there is a problem:
when i do: ./osmocom_fft -s 8000000 -f 446000000 -g 60
i get:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./osmocom_fft", line 33, in <module>
import osmosdr
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/__init__.py", line 45, in <module>
from osmosdr_swig import *
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/osmosdr_swig.py", line 26, in <module>
_osmosdr_swig = swig_import_helper()
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/osmosdr_swig.py", line 22, in swig_import_helper
_mod = imp.load_module('_osmosdr_swig', fp, pathname, description)
ImportError: libgnuradio-osmosdr-0.1.1git.so.0.0.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

libgnuradio-osmosdr-0.1.1git.so.0.0.0 is in /usr/local/lib
and usr/local/lib is in my PATH

what is wrong here?
I'm having a similar issue, can you please explain how you resolved this?

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/omid/Desktop/wbfm/top_block.py", line 22, in <module>
import osmosdr
File "/opt/gnuradio-3.7.3/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/__init__.py", line 45, in <module>
from osmosdr_swig import *
File "/opt/gnuradio-3.7.3/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/osmosdr_swig.py", line 26, in <module>
_osmosdr_swig = swig_import_helper()
File "/opt/gnuradio-3.7.3/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/osmosdr/osmosdr_swig.py", line 22, in swig_import_helper
_mod = imp.load_module('_osmosdr_swig', fp, pathname, description)
ImportError: /opt/gnuradio-3.7.3/lib/libgnuradio-osmosdr-0.1.2git.so.0.0.0: undefined symbol: bladerf_sync_rx
kartar
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 5:01 am

Re: libbladeRF not working?

Post by kartar »

Hi,
Do you use the precompiled bladerf library, or did you compiled the code from git? The sync interface is quite new, and the precompiled libraries are outdated. At least for windows is this the case and if you haven't set your build environment yet, it is a good advice to do it...
Post Reply