[SOLVED] Loading to the FPGA -> operation timed out

Having issues with the site, hardware, source code, or any other issues?

Moderator: robert.ghilduta

Post Reply
Anri
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:33 am

[SOLVED] Loading to the FPGA -> operation timed out

Post by Anri » Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:01 am

I have two bladeRF x40.
One of them does not want to work correctly.
Снимок.PNG
I make some steps:
1. Change name of file "hostedx40.rbf" to "hostedx401.rbf"
2. And then I can ...
pic2.PNG
But I can not load FPGA.

Can someone help me?

My OS is Windows 7.
Last edited by Anri on Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Anri
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:33 am

Re: Loading to the FPGA -> operation timed out

Post by Anri » Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:51 am

Some additional information:
1. When I type "bladerf-cli -i" LED1, LED2 and LED3 light up. I type "bladerf-cli -i" again and again several times and LED2 blinked few times.
2. When I change name of file "hostedx40.rbf" to "hostedx401.rbf":
  • when I type "bladerf-cli -i" LED1, LED2 and LED3 dont light.
  • when I type "load fpga C:\Program Files\bladeFR\hostedx401.rbf" LED1, LED3 light up, LED2 was blinking.
  • when I type "quit" LED1, LED3 light up, LED2 stoped blinking.

Anri
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:33 am

Re: Loading to the FPGA -> operation timed out

Post by Anri » Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:02 am

[SOLVED]
When we plug bladerf to PC (powered it) led D1 must turn on.
1.PNG
In our case it (led D1) does not light. Why? L51 was broken. We replaced it by new and now all is OK.
3 (557x351).jpg
Some info. If si5338 is not powered fpga cannot work correctly.

bglod
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Loading to the FPGA -> operation timed out

Post by bglod » Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:08 am

That is... very interesting. I am not sure why / how L51 could have broken, or how it could have passed our testing prior to shipment, but it does seem somewhat of a peculiar error. I have a note in to check for this in the test code.

At any rate, I am glad you were able to track it down to that and fix it yourself. Also, thank you for posting the solution, it may be helpful to others with a similar issue.
Electrical Engineer
Nuand, LLC.

Anri
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:33 am

Re: [SOLVED] Loading to the FPGA -> operation timed out

Post by Anri » Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:14 pm

bglod wrote:
Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:08 am
I am not sure why / how L51 could have broken.
This is a question for us too.

After repair we test this board several days and it work correctly.

bglod
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Loading to the FPGA -> operation timed out

Post by bglod » Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:20 pm

My best guess is shipping damage based on the fact that we test these boards for proper operation before they ship. If there's an issue loading the FPGA, the tests would (should!) fail. I am glad that the fix is holding up. Please do let us know if the issue returns as it could be indicative of something else.
Electrical Engineer
Nuand, LLC.

Anri
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:33 am

Re: [SOLVED] Loading to the FPGA -> operation timed out

Post by Anri » Sun Jul 08, 2018 1:59 pm

bglod wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:20 pm
My best guess is shipping damage based on the fact that we test these boards for proper operation before they ship
I have not say (this is my mistake) that this board has been working correctly for several months. When we got it - it was OK!
We use PC, usb 3.0 hub and connected to it two boards.
In one day we noticed that our program could not take data from one of boards.

Post Reply